Forgotten Password

Club News

U11s Runners up in Lutterworth Festival!

Main Image

Sunday 19th July: 

Market Harborough Under 11’s Cricket Team enjoyed a successful day at the Lutterworth Cricket Festival.

Starting with a win against the hosts, MH won the toss and put the hosts into bat.  MH bowlers Jacob Gilliam and Fred Page kept it accurate and troubled the batsmen and the whole side looked sharp in the field which helped restrict the hosts and made the 110 run chase easier with knocks from Rolph Eastwood and Elizabeth Page leading the way.

They followed this up with a win against Enderby, narrowly beating them by 12 runs.  Once again MH’s bowling was accurate with a fine display of spin bowling from Toby Ingram but it was their fielding that won them the game making two superb run outs which took the heart out of the Enderby attack.

Now in the Semi Final they faced a confident Willoughby and after being put into bat first MH ended on a challenging 123.  They followed this up with another outstanding display in the field led this time by a brilliant performance behind the stumps from Matthew Bolderston and by Ollie Oakden making his first appearance for the club who took an excellent catch on the boundary which helped to stifle the opposition to 110 in their reply.

The final was always going to be a challenging encounter against an impressive side from Narborough who have an unbeaten record so far this season.  Their quality soon showed when they removed the top 3 MH batsmen without troubling the scorer and MH continued to struggle through the order making a total that never looked enough to trouble Narborough.  Even with the same accurate bowing by Tom Dicicco and dedication in the field, Narborough ran out easy winners but MH can be proud of the effort they put in and the way they conducted themselves throughout.

 The medal presentation was made by Leicestershire wicketkeeper and batsman Lewis Hill who commented that ending the day as Runners Up is a great achievement.

Team photo. (Back L-R: Ollie Oakden, Fred Page, Matthew Bolderston, Toby Ingram, Elizabeth Page.  Front L-R: Rolph Eastwood, Jacob Gilliam, Tom Dicicco)

Comments are not activated