Forgotten Password

Club News

Cricket Presentation Evening 2014

Main Image

Last night was the 2014 Cricket Club Presentation evening held at the Club house. Around 60 players and supporters came along to celebrate the end of a challenging season that saw some great team and individual performances, both on and off the field.

Steve Avil, Club Chairman, thanked all the volunteers that had helped behind the scenes to keep the Club going through the difficult opening half of the season, particularly Ian Milne and Pete Davis, who jointly received the Chairman's Trophy for Clubman of the Year.

He also acknowledged the work put in by the grounds staff, John Gilbert and Richard Berry, aided by Ian Simpson, Elliott Lyons and others in keeping the ground looking as good as ever.

Thanks were also given to all the volunteer coaches who turned out on Sunday mornings to coach the juniors, and the U11, U13 and U15 managers.

He congratulated the U15 team on getting to the County Cup Final - a great performance by a team that he hope would form the basis of an U17 side next season, with more players feeding into the 2nd XI.

He thanked the many players from both the Cricket and Squash Club that turned out to play for the 2nd Team, and the stirling work done by Ian Milne in getting teams out for all but one match in te second half of the season. He congratulated George Bott on his development as a captain of the side, and his great stand of 37 with Mrs Avil against Loughborough Carillion! Although the side will be relegated next season this will probably suit the needs of the players we are hoping to develop and use in that team, making getting sides out easier.

Joe Gordon, and his 1st Team were congratulated on how well they performed in a season in which many people had written them off. It showed what talent and teamwork combined together can do, and bodes well for next season. Choosing the Players' player must have been hard with so many worthy candidates such as Kevin Innes, Elliott Lyons, George Bott, George Clarke and Joe Gordon, himself.

Pete Davis thanked Steve and Alison Avil for helping to drive the club forward in the second half of the season.

The Award winners were:

U11 Most Improved Player - James Owen

U13 Most Improved Player - James Vickers

U15 Most Improved Player - Ben Masters

Most Improved Senior Player - Paddy Sadd

2nd Team Bowler - Josh Bott

2nd Team Batsman - George Bott

1st Team Bowler - Laurence Perry

1st Team Batsman - George Clarke

Champagne Moment Award - Zach Chapple for his 8.1 -0-32-7 against Hinckley.

Junior Player of the Year - Joe Kendall

Players' Player Award - George Clarke

The final thanks should go to the Tea ladies who turn out fantastic spreads week in, week out!

click here for more photos

Comments are not activated